PRAIRIE-HILLS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT DISTRICT ANNEX MARKHAM, ILLINOIS 60428

May 4, 2020

1. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Sharron Davis called the meeting to order at 2:35pm.

2. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Ms. Juanita Jordan, Mrs. Natalie Myers, Ms. Joyce Dickerson, Mrs. Taylor, Ms. Elaine Walker, Ms. Barbara Nettles and Ms. Sharron Davis. The following members were absent: None.

Also present were: Dr. Kimako Patterson, Superintendent, Mrs. Julia Veazey, Assistant Superintendent, Mrs. Deborah Clayton, Chief School Business Official, Mrs. Carrie Ablin, Director of Student Services and Dr. Kenneth Scott, Director of Human Resources.

3. Superintendent's Update

In an effort to keep the Board of Education updated on all letters and other correspondents to parents, Dr. Patterson commented on the most recent letter mailed out.

4. 8th Grade Virtual Graduation

Dr. Patterson informed the Board that she and Mr. K. Smith, Junior High Principal are currently planning a virtual graduation followed by a parade through the communities. Dr. Patterson informed the Board that the Mayors and Police Chiefs from each municipality have been contacted regarding our plans and the parade route.

5. 2020-2021 Administrative Raises

Dr. Patterson requested that items 5 and 6 be tabled until Executive Session for further discussion.

6. 2020-2021 Non-Union Raises

Tabled for further discussion in Executive Session.

7. Construction Update

Mrs. Clayton informed the Board that all of the current and upcoming projects are on target and continue to run smoothly.

8. 2020-2021 Online Subscription Renewals

Mrs. Veazey presented online subscription renewals for the 2020-2021 school year. Mrs. Veazey is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

Dr. Patterson then informed the Board that in preparation for the Hotspot distributions we are continually gathering information to determine how many students are in need of devices.

9. Food Service Truck Purchase

Dr. Scott informed the Board that he has reached out to a representative at Sutton Ford for the purpose of purchasing our own District Food Trucks. The negotiated price for 2 trucks will save the District significantly as the grant will cover the cost of one vehicle. Dr. Scott is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

10. Bella's Transportation FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the 2020-2021 Bella's Transportation Contract for renewal purposes. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

11. Fresh Winds Transportation FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the 2020-2021 Fresh Winds Transportation Contract for renewal purposes. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

12. Go Solutions Contract FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the 2020-2021 Go Solutions Contract for renewal purposes. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

13. SPEED Leasing Contract FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the 2020-2021 SPEED Leasing Contract for renewal purposes. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

14. Williams Transportation FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the 2020-2021 Williams Transportation Contract for renewal purposes. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the May 18, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

15. Audience Participation

N/A

16. New Business

Dr. Patterson mentioned to the Board that due to the timeliness of the RISE Agreement it did not make it onto the Work Session Agenda. As such, Mrs. Ablin will be seeking approval for the RISE Agreement for the 2020-2021 school year at the May 18, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

17. Executive Session (2:200)

Ms. Jordan moved and it was seconded by Mrs. Taylor to go into Executive Session. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Nettles, Ms. Jordan, Ms. Dickerson, Mrs. Myers, Mrs. Taylor and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried 3:00p.m.

Ms. Dickerson moved and it as seconded by Ms. Walker to adjourn the Executive Session. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Jordan, Mrs. Taylor, Ms. Nettles, Ms. Dickerson, Mrs. Myers, Ms. Walker and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None,

Motion Carried 4:10p.m.

18. Adjournment (2:200)

Ms. Jordan moved and it was seconded by Mrs. Myers to adjourn the May 4, 2020 Work Session. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried 4:10p.m.

Submitted by,

Sharron Davis, President

Barbara Nettles, Secretary